Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 7 (1937-1938) by Big Bill Broonzy

Label: Document Records.
Release Date: 1992.
Recording Time: 64 minutes.
Release Info: Compilation Studio Recording.
Recording Date: October 13, 1937 - September 15, 1938.

Styles: Acoustic Blues; Acoustic Chicago Blues; Country Blues; Regional Blues; Blues Revival; Pre-War Blues.

Big Bill Broonzy's 1930s recordings (reissued in full on this extensive series of Document CDs) are remarkably consistent and have an impressive amount of variety within the blues idiom. During the 11 months covered by this seventh volume, Broonzy recorded as part of three different trios with either Blind John Davis or Joshua Altheimer on piano and Fred Williams, Bill Settles or Ransom Knowling on bass; a "modern" quartet with tenorman Bill Owsley and the pioneering electric guitar of George Barnes (on Mar. 1, 1938); and with a few slightly expanded groups, including one with trumpeter Punch Miller. Broonzy was open to the influence of swing (thus the occasional horns) while sticking to his Chicago blues base. Such numbers as "Hattie Blues," "Somebody's Got to Go," "It's a Low Down Dirty Shame," "Unemployment Stomp," "Night Time Is the Right Time No. 2" and "W.P.A. Rag" show off his versatility and talents. - Review by Scott Yanow.

Credits: Joshua Altheimer - piano; George Barnes - guitar (electric); Buster Bennett - sax (alto); Keith Briggs - liner notes; Big Bill Broonzy - composer, guitar, primary artist, vocals; Leroy Carr - composer; Cow Cow Davenport - composer; Blind John Davis - piano; Jazz Gillum - composer; Ransom Knowling - bass; Punch Miller - trumpet; Bill Owsley - clarinet, sax (tenor); Johnny Parth - compilation producer, producer; Bill Settles - bass; Ollie Shepard - composer; Casey Bill Weldon - composer; Bukka White - composer; Fred Williams - drums; Walter Williams - trumpet.

Personnel: Big Bill Broonzy - vocals, guitar; Blind John Davis - piano; Fred Williams - drums. Big Bill Broonzry - vocals, guitar; Blind John Davis - piano; Bill Settles - stand-up bass. Big Bill Broonzy - vocals, guitar; accompanied probably by Bill Owsley - tenor sax; Blind John Davis - piano; George Barnes - electric guitar. Big Bill Broonzy - vocals; acc. Punch Miller - trumpet; Joshua Altheimer - piano; Fred Williams - drums. Big Bill Broonzy - vocals, guitar; Joshua Altheimer - piano; probably Ransom Knowling - stand-up bass. Big Bill Broonzy - vocals, guitar; Bill Owsley - clarinet 19,20,21 / tenor sax on18,19; probably Joshua Altheimer - piano; probably George Barnes - electric guitar; Ransom Knowling - stand-up bass. Big Bill And The Memphis Five: Big Bill Broonzy - vocals, guitar; accompanied by Walter Williams - trumpet; Buster Bennett - alto sax; Blind John Davis - piano; possibly Ransom Knowling - stand-up bass.

Tracks: 1) Made A Date With An Angel (Got No Walking Shoes) - Big Bill Broonzy; 2) Play Your Hand - Big Bill Broonzy; 3) Hattie Blues - Big Bill Broonzy; 4) Somebody's Got To Go - Big Bill Broonzy; 5) Good Boy - Big Bill Broonzy; 6) I Want You By My Side - Big Bill Broonzy; 7) Border Blues - Big Bill Broonzy; 8) Sweetheart Land - Big Bill Broonzy; 9) It's A Low Down Dirty Shame - Big Bill Broonzy; 10) Got To Get Ready Tonight - Big Bill Broonzy; 11) Trucking Little Woman - Big Bill Broonzy; 12) Unemployment Stomp - Big Bill Broonzy; 13) Why Do You Do That To Me - Big Bill Broonzy; 14) It's Your Time Now - Big Bill Broonzy; 15) I'll Start Cutting On You - Big Bill Broonzy; 16) Sad Letter Blues - Big Bill Broonzy; 17) The Mill Man Blues - Big Bill Broonzy; 18) I'll Do Anything For You - Big Bill Broonzy; 19) Sad Pencil Blues - Big Bill Broonzy; 20) New Shake 'Em On Down - Big Bill Broonzy; 21) Night Time Is The Right Time No 2 - Big Bill Broonzy; 22) Let Me Dig It - Big Bill and The Memphis Five; 23) WPA Rag - Big Bill and The Memphis Five.