The roots of the blues from Mississippi Delta, Memphis, Saint Louis, Chicago ... Muddy Waters, Howlin' Wolf, Little Walter, Willie Dixon, Koko Taylor, B.B. King, Robert Johnson, Elmore James, T-Bone Walker, John Lee Hooker, and more ...

Blues Masters (Vol. 8) Mississippi Delta Blues by Various Artists

Label: Rhino Records.
Release Date: February 23, 1993.
Recording Time: 61 minutes.
Release Info: Studio Recording.

Styles: Acoustic Chicago Blues, Chicago Blues, Delta Blues, Electric Chicago Blues, Electric Delta Blues, Pre-War Blues, Pre-War Country Blues, Regional Blues, Slide Guitar Blues.

The title for this volume is a bit of a misnomer. While there is easily half a compilation's worth of authentic acoustic material here (including classics by Tommy Johnson, Charley Patton, Willie Brown, and Robert Johnson), the inclusion of tracks by B.B. and Albert King and recorded in Chicago sides by Howlin' Wolf, Elmore James and Robert Nighthawk do much to blur the distinctiveness of this package. - Review by Cub Koda.

Credits: James Austin - compilation producer; Willie Brown - composer, performer, primary artist; Chester Burnett - composer; R.G. Ford - composer; Son House - composer, performer, primary artist; Howlin' Wolf - performer, primary artist; Elmore James - composer, performer, primary artist; Louise Johnson - composer, performer, primary artist; Robert Johnson - composer, performer, primary artist; Thomas "Snake" Johnson - performer; Tommy Johnson - composer, performer, primary artist; Jones - performer; Floyd Jones - composer, performer, primary artist; Albert King - performer, primary artist; B.B. King - composer, performer, primary artist; Riley King - composer; Rube Lacey - composer, performer, primary artist; Reverend Rubin Lacy - performer; Robert McCollum - performer, primary artist; Big Maceo Merriweather - composer; McKinley Morganfield - composer; Robert Nighthawk - performer; Charley Patton - composer, performer, primary artist; Robert Petway - composer, performer, primary artist; James Sehorn - composer; Jules Taub - composer; Muddy Waters - performer, primary artist; Sonny Boy Williamson II - composer; Sonny Boy Williamson I - performer, primary artist.

Tracks: 1) Big Road Blues - Tommy Johnson; 2) Cool Drink of Water Blues - Tommy Johnson; 3) Rattlesnake Blues - Charley Patton; 4) Future Blues - Willie Brown; 5) On the Wall - Louise Johnson; 6) Mississippi Jail House Groan - Rube Lacey; 7) Preachin' the Blues, Pt. I & II - Son House; 8) Cross Road Blues - Robert Johnson; 9) Catfish Blues - Robert Petway; 10) I Feel Like Going Home - Muddy Waters; 11) Dark Road - Floyd Jones; 12) Eyesight to the Blind - Sonny Boy Williamson; 13) Sitting on Top of the World - Howlin' Wolf; 14) Goin' Down to Eli's - Robert Nighthawk; 15) I Believe - Elmore James; 16) Something Inside Me - Elmore James; 17) Sweet Little Angel - B.B. King; 18) Crosscut Saw - Albert King.