Blues Masters (Vol. 14) More Jump Blues by Various Artists

Label: Rhino Records.
Release Date: 1993.
Recording Time: 46 minutes.
Release Info: Studio Recording.

Styles: Early R&B, Jump Blues, Urban Blues, East Coast Blues, New Orleans R&B, Piano Blues, Regional Blues, Rock & Roll, Swing.

Just as essential as the previous Rhino jump blues collection (volume five of the Blues Masters series), this has classics by Floyd Dixon ("Hey Bartender"), Joe Liggins ("Pink Champagne"), Joe Turner, Wynonie Harris, Ruth Brown, Big Maybelle, and Louis Jordan. It also takes some chances by presenting cuts by performers not strictly identified with the style, like Louis Prima, Bobby Charles (the original version of Bill Haley's "See You Later Alligator"), Little Richard, and Faye Adams, whose rousing "I'll Be True" is a touchstone of early R&B. - Review by Richie Unterberger.

Credits: Faye Adams - performer, primary artist; Reginald Ashby - composer; Avril - composer; LaVern Baker - performer, primary artist; Big Maybelle - performer, primary artist; Ruth Brown - performer, primary artist; Sam Butera & the Witnesses - performer, primary artist; Roy Byrd - composer; Bobby Charles - performer, primary artist; Denver Darling - composer; Floyd Dixon - performer; Floyd Dixon & His Band - performer, primary artist; Don Donaldson - composer; Ahmet Ertegun - composer; Milt Gabler - composer; Robert Guidry - composer; Wynonie Harris - performer, primary artist; Vaughn Horton - composer; Louis Jordan - performer, primary artist; Jerry Leiber - composer; Joe Liggins - composer, performer; Joe Liggins & His Honeydrippers - performer, primary artist; Little Richard - composer, performer, primary artist; Buddy Lucas - composer; Fred Mendelsohn - composer; Debbie Morris - composer; Joe Morris - performer; Johnny Otis - performer, primary artist; Lloyd Parker - performer, primary artist; Piano Red - performer, primary artist; Doc Pomus - composer; Lloyd Price - composer, performer; Sammy Price - composer, performer; Sammy Price & His Texas Bluesicians - performer, primary artist; Louis Prima - performer, primary artist; Professor Longhair - performer, primary artist; Bobby Robinson - composer; Mike Stoller - composer; Tarheel Slim - performer, primary artist; Dossie Terry - composer; Chick Thompson - composer; Big Joe Turner - performer, primary artist; Van "Piano Man" Walls - performer, primary artist; The Witnesses - performer; Young Jessie - composer, performer, primary artist.

Tracks: 1) Number Nine Train - Tarheel Slim; 2) Choo Choo Ch'Boogie - Louis Jordan & His Tympani Five; 3) Ball the Wall - Professor Longhair; 4) Little Richard's Boogie - Little Richard witn Johnny Otis Band; 5) Wild, Wild Young Men - Ruth Brown; 6) Boogie Woogie Country Girl - Big Joe Turner & Orchestra Featuring Van "Piano Man" Walls; 7) 5 Months, 2 Weeks, 2 Days - Louis Prima with Sam Butera & The Witnesses; 8) Hey Bartender - Floyd Dixon & His Band; 9) Pink Champagne - Joe Liggins & His Honeydrippers; 10) Don't Happen No More - Young Jessie; 11) Voodoo Voodoo - LaVern Baker; 12) Rib Joint - Sammy Price & His Texas Bluesicians; 13) Later Alligator - Bobby Charles; 14) That's a Pretty Good Love - Big Maybelle; 15) Forgive Me, Clawdy - Lloyd Prise & His Band; 16) I'll Be True - Faye Adams with Joe Morris Orchestra; 17) Jump Man Jump - Piano Red; 18) Destination Love - Wynonie Harris.