Atlantic Blues, Piano by Various Artists

Label: Atlantic Records.
Release Date: 1986.
Recording Time: 72 minutes.
Release Info: Studio Recording.
Releases: 1990 (Atlantic / Rhino).
Recording Date: April 6, 1949 - October 24, 1976.

Styles: Big Band, Boogie-Woogie, Chicago Blues, Early R&B, Jazz Blues, Jump Blues, New Orleans Blues, New Orleans R&B, Piano Blues, Regional Blues, Rock & Roll, Soul, Swing, Urban Blues, West Coast Blues.

Sampling treats from such blues hotbeds as Chicago, Kansas City, and New Orleans, this single disc from Atlantic's blues box spotlights the men at the ivories with 23 good-to-excellent sides. Giving due respect to the boogie-woogie heyday of the '30s and '40s, the collection includes four 1972 sides by Jimmy Yancey (cut just prior to his death) and three early-'50s numbers by Meade "Lux" Lewis. Another fine tinkler, Champion Jack Dupree, reveals the rougher side of the boogie craze with some fine, latter-day barrelhouse gems off of his universally lauded Blues From the Gutter album. And not to forget Kansas City and the Crescent City, the disc also includes a true classic by Big Joe Turner and Pete Johnson ("Roll 'Em Pete"), a few solid sides by big band veteran and onetime Charlie Parker employer Jay McShann, and a genre-defining bayou classic compliments of Professor Longhair ("Tipitina"). With an intriguing 1953 demo by Ray Charles and an early-'70s funk rambler from Dr. John ("Junco Partner") to top things off, Atlantic Blues: Piano makes for a quality session by the stereo.
Review by Stephen Cook.

Credits: Texas Johnny Brown - primary artist; Henry Roeland Byrd - composer; Ray Charles - primary artist; Floyd Dixon - composer, primary artist; Willie Dixon - composer; Doctor John - primary artist; Champion Jack Dupree - composer, primary artist; Lowell Fulson - composer; Lloyd Glenn - composer; John Lee Hooker - composer; Ollie Hoskins - composer; Pete Johnson - composer; Meade "Lux" Lewis - composer, primary artist; Willie Mabon - composer, primary artist; Chris Mars - composer; Jay McShann - composer, primary artist; Little Brother Montgomery - primary artist; Noa - composer; Bob Porter - compilation producer; Professor Longhair - primary artist; Tommy Stinson - composer; Allen Toussaint - composer; Traditional - composer; Big Joe Turner - composer, primary artist; Van "Piano Man" Walls - primary artist; Paul Westerberg - composer; Jimmy Yancey - composer, primary artist.

Tracks: 1) Yancey Special - Jimmy Yancey; 2) Talkin' Boogie - Little Brother Montgomery; 3) Mournful Blues - Jimmy Yancey; 4) Salute to Pinetop - Jimmy Yancey; 5) Shave 'Em Dry - Jimmy Yancey; 6) Frankie & Johnny - Jack Dupree; 7) T.B. Blues - Jack Dupree; 8) Strollin' - Jack Dupree; 9) Tipitina - Professor Longhair; 10) Blue Sender - Vann 'Piano Man' Walls; 11) After Midnight - Vann 'Piano Man' Walls; 12) Roll 'Em Pete - Joe Turner; 13) Fore Day Rider - Jay McShann; 14) My Chile - Jay McShann; 15) Cow Cow Blues - Meade Lux Lewis; 16) Albert's Blues - Meade Lux Lewis; 17) Honky Tonk Train Blues - Meade Lux Lewis; 18) Low Society - Ray Charles; 19) Hey Bartender - Floyd Dixon; 20) Floyd's Blues - Floyd Dixon; 21) After Hours Blues - Texas Johnny Brown; 22) Junco Partner - Doctor John; 23) I Don't Know - Willie Mabon.