Life Goes On by Monica Dupont

Label: ModernBlues Records.
Release Date: June 3, 2008.
Recording Time: 36 minutes.

Styles: Contemporary Blues.

Blues Fron The Heart
Monica Dupont has the rare gift to reach the listener's soul with her deep, unique voice and her honest, "from the heart" song-delivery. Her CD "Life Goes On" spans the entire musical spectrum of the Blues - and beyond. The 10 songs on her album demonstrate that she is easily at home singing Jazz, Rock, Soul, Traditional and Modern Blues, without ever compromising her individuality. Monica is also an accomplished guitarist and song-writer. Her seven compositions on this CD highlight the diverse range of styles mentioned above, never sounding cliche or resorting to the over-worked 12-bar structure. Every track on "Life Goes On" is a stand-out, but I do have my favourites...and they're all Monica's songs, like the jazzy "Mr Cool", the rocking "Shakin' The Sheets" and the Chicago-flavoured "When I'm Gone". There are surprises too - like her rendition of "Running Bear", in which Monica succeeds in putting a totally different, but convincing meaning to the old Johnny Preston tune. Monica also features an impressive line-up of musicians, including Gary Novak(bass, producer and various other instruments); Mark Hummel (blues harp); Buzzy Linhart (vibes); Ron Thompson, Microwave Dave, Jimi James and Bobby Young (guitars) and Blaine Hoops (sax), plus many more... "Life Goes On" is an album that will please music lovers of all genres and ages, because the music is sung and played "From The Heart". I highly recommend it.
by Marc Leon

© Copyright - ModernBlues Records

Credits: Monica Dupont - art direction, composer, guitar, primary artist, vocals, vocals (background); Nancy Lee Ericksen - vocals (background); Mark Hummel - harp; J.B. Hutto - composer; Jimi James - guitar; Buzzy Linhart - vibraphone; Kenneth Nash - percussion; Gary Novak - bass, digital mastering, drums, engineer, guitar, keyboards, mixing, organ, producer, vocals (background); J.P. Richardson - composer; Ron Thompson - guitar; Bobbie Webb - saxophone; Mitch Woods - piano.

Tracks: 1) Too Much Alcohol; 2) Sittin' Around; 3) A Bigger Place; 4) Shakin' the Sheets; 5) Running Bear; 6) The Man From New Orleans; 7) Some Other Girl's Dream; 8) Mr. Cool; 9) When I'm Gone; 10) Life Goes On.