Texas Bluesman by Zuzu Bollin

Label: Dallas Blues Society Records.
Release Date: 1989.
Recording Time: 34 minutes.
Release Info: Studio Recording.
Releases: 1991 (Antone's), 1991 (P-Vine), 2013 (New West / Texas Music Group).

Styles: Electric Blues, Electric Texas Blues, Jump Blues, Regional Blues, Texas Blues.

Zuzu's principal contribution to Texas blues history is an immaculately realized collection that includes remakes of both sides of his debut 78 (the original version of "Why Don't You Eat Where You Slept Last Night" is available on Vol. 3 of Rhino's Blues Masters series, "Texas Blues") and a uniformly tasty lineup of jump blues goodies. The sterling band includes guitarist Duke Robillard (who co-produced), drummer George Rains, and saxists David Newman and Kaz Kazanoff.
Review by Bill Dahl.

"Fantastic Texas blues! If you love T-Bone Walker you're going to love Zuzu Bollin." - by RL.

Credits: Clifford Antone - executive producer; Jack Barber - bass; Kent Barker - photography; Count Basie - composer; Wayne Bennett - guest artist, guitar; Leona Blackman - composer; Jon Blondell - bass, trombone; Zuzu Bollin - composer, guitar, primary artist, vocals; Doyle Bramhall - drums; Hash Brown - guitar (rhythm); Sumter Bruton - guitar (rhythm); Tony Burke - liner notes; Robert Harwell - sax (tenor); Gary Hickinbotham - engineer; Robert Hill - composer; Marchel Ivery - sax (tenor); Percy Mayfield - composer; Charles McBurney - trumpet; Jim Milam - clevenger bass; John Mills - sax (baritone); Rocky Morales - sax (tenor); Chuck Nevitt - producer; David "Fathead" Newman - guest artist, sax (tenor); Derek O'Brien - liner notes, mixing, producer, reissue supervisor; Gene Phillips - composer; George Rains - drums, mixing, producer; Dick Reeves - art direction, design; Duke Robillard - guitar, mixing, producer; Jessie Mae Robinson - composer; Jimmy Rushing - composer; Doug Sahm - guest artist, piano; Craig Simechek - piano; Mike Strickland - sax (baritone), saxophone; Bob Sullivan - engineer, mixing; Stuart Sullivan - engineer, mixing; Big Joe Turner - composer; Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson - composer; Keith Winking - trumpet.

Tracks: 1) Big Legs; 2) Hey Little Girl; 3) Blues in the Dark; 4) Kidney Stew; 5) Cold, Cold Feeling; 6) Why Don't You Eat Where You Slept Last Night?; 7) Headlight Blues; 8) How Do You Want Your Rollin' Done; 9) Leary Blues; 10) Rebecca; 11) Zu's Blues.