Return of the Boogie Man by Preacher Jack

Label: Rounder Records.
Release Date: February 11, 1997.
Recording Time: 45 minutes.
Recording Date: early 1980's.
Releases: 1997 (Concord / New Rounder), 1997 (Rounder Select / Rounder).
Release Info: Compilation Studio Recording.

Styles: Roots Rockin' Blues.

Recording information: Dimension Sound, Jamaica Plane, MA.

I had the honor of video taping Preacher Jack back in the mid-eighties when he was playing clubs north of Boston. This is just classic pure boogie woogie at it's best. While nothing compares to seeing this man live, listening to his music connects you with a style of piano playing that makes every part of you want to move. Many of his songs have a gospel appeal to them. This may appeal to some, while turning off others. However if you focus on the incredible piano playing of this great man, it is not so important if you do not care for the message. If you enjoy piano players like Tuts Washington, then you should add this to your collection.
by Peter Drougas

* Down Beat (6/97, p.62) - 3 stars (out of 5) - " question, the Preacher is one of a kind, using his fire-and-brimstone singing and the rolling basses of his left hand in combination with his speedy right..."

Personnel: Preacher Jack (vocals, piano, organ); The Persuasions, Beverly Rohrer (vocals); Sleepy LaBeef (guitar); Billy Blough (bass); Jeff Simon (drums). 

Liner Note Author: Elijah Wald.
Audio Mixers: Chris Rival; Jake Guralnick; John Nagy. 
Arranger: Jack Lincoln Couglin. 
Photographer: Glenn Jones.

Credits: Dave Bartholomew - Composer; Billy Blough - Bass; Joseph Brinkley - Composer; Jack Lincoln Couglin - Arranger, Composer; Luther Dixon - Composer; Bonnie Dodd - Composer; Fats Domino - Composer; Nancy Given - Design; Roger Greenaway - Composer; Jake Guralnick - Compilation Producer, Mixing; Ken Irwin - Producer; Glenn Jones - Photography; Allyson R. Khent - Composer; Sleepy LaBeef - Guest Artist, Guitar; Barry Mason - Composer; Billy Mize - Composer; Toby Mountain - Mastering; John Nagy - Engineer, Mixing; Junior Parker - Composer; The Persuasions - Guest Artist, Vocals; Sam Phillips - Composer; Preacher Jack - Organ, Piano, Primary Artist, Vocals; Sergey Rachmaninov - Composer; Charlie Rich - Composer; Chris Rival - Mixing; Beverly Rohlehr - Vocals; Jeff Simon - Drums; Traditional - Composer; Elijah Wald - Compilation Producer, Liner Notes; Hank Williams - Composer; John W. Work II - Composer; Jimmy Yancey - Composer.

Tracks: 1) All By Myself; 2) Say You'll Stay Until Tomorrow; 3) Break-Up; 4) Yancey's Bugle Call; 5) The Public is My Family, Music is My Life; 6) Go Tell It On the Mountain; 7) Mystery Train; 8) Jessie's Boogie Woogie; 9) I'll Be Your Baby; 10) Who Will Buy the Wine?; 11) Lovin' Up a Storm; 12) Teardrop on a Rose; 13) Rounder Boogie; 14) May You Never Be Alone Like Me; 15) Be Careful of Stones that You Throw; 16) Just A Closer Walk with Thee.