House Rockin' & Hip Shakin', Vol. 2 - Louisiana Hoodoo Party (Excello) by Various Artists

Label: Hip-O
Release Date: June 16, 1998
Recording Date: 1954 - October, 1965

Styles: Delta Blues, Regional Blues, Blues Revival, Electric Blues, Electric harmonica Blues, Juke Joint Blues, Louisiana Blues, North American Traditions, Swamp Blues, Zydeco

Subtitled 'Hoo Doo Party, ' this second volume of Excello blues recordings collects up 16 great ones with some obscurities making their first CD appearance. In addition to holdover artists from volume one (Slim Harpo with "Blues Hangover" and "Baby, Scratch My Back," Lightnin' Slim with "You Know You're So Fine" and Lazy Lester with "Lester Stomp"), there's great stuff aboard from Jimmy Anderson, Silas Hogan, Lonesome Sundown and Tabby Thomas with the title track. Other highlights rounding out the collection include Guitar Gable's "Congo Mombo," Charles Sheffield's "It's Your Voo-Doo Working," Earl Gaines & his High Toppers' "It's Love Pretty Baby (24 Hours a Day)," a three-song set from brothers Arthur Gunter and Little Al Gunter, and Kid King's Combo with Good Rockin' Sam Beasley's "Now Listen Baby," the blueprint for Little Walter's "Everything's Gonna Be Alright."
by Cub Koda

Credits: Ernest Ambrose - bass; Jimmy Anderson - composer, harmonica, performer, primary artist, vocals; Geese August - bass; Good Rockin' Sam Beasley - performer, primary artist; Good Rockin' Sam Beasley - primary artist; Edward Brooks - piano; Louis Brooks - sax (tenor); Austin Broussard - drums; Sammy K. Brown - drums; Mark Dee - composer; Clarence "Jockey" Etinne - drums; Al Foreman - composer, guitar; guitar Gable - composer, guitar, performer, primary artist; Earl Gaines - vocals; Earl Gaines & His Hi-Hoppers - performer, primary artist; Laura Graven - coordination; Cornelius Green - guitar, vocals; Arthur Neal Gunter - composer, guitar, performer, primary artist; Slim Harpo - composer, harmonica, performer, primary artist, vocals; Burnell Hayney - drums; Silas Hogan - composer, guitar, performer, primary artist, vocals; Bill Inglot - digital transfers; James Johnson - guitar; Jimmy Johnson - harmonica; Leslie Johnson - composer, harmonica; Kid King - drums; Kid King's Combo - performer, primary artist; Lazy Lester - harmonica, primary artist; Leap Frogs - performer, primary artist; Lightnin' Slim - guitar, performer, primary artist, vocals; Little Al - guitar, performer, primary artist, vocals; Lonesome Sundown - performer, primary artist; Bobby McBride - bass; Clifford McCray - bass; Andy McKaie - producer; Tal Miller - piano; James Moore - harmonica, vocals; Tom Moulton - digital remastering; Fats Perrodin - bass; Rudolph Richard - guitar; Paul Santos - art direction; Charles Sheffield - composer, performer, primary artist, vocals; Dick Shurman - liner notes, producer; Harry Simoneaux - sax (baritone), sax (tenor); Slim - guitar, vocals; Moses Smith - composer, harmonica; Whispering Smith - performer, primary artist; Mitch Steele - coordination; Warren Storm - drums; Rufus Thibodeaux - bass; Rockin' Tabby Thomas - composer, performer, primary artist; Lionel Torrence - sax (baritone), sax (tenor), vocals; Greg Vaughn - digital remastering; Monroe Vincent - percussion; Katie Webster - piano; Jerry West - composer; Edward Williams - composer; Ulysses Williams - guitar; Michael Wilson - photography; Freddy Young - sax (alto).

Tracks: 1) Hoodoo Party - Rockin' Tabby Thomas; 2) Just Give Me a Chance - Silas Hogan; 3) Baby Scratch My Back - Slim Harpo; 4) It's Love Pretty Baby - Earl Gaines & His Hi-Hoppers; 5) You Know You're So Fine - Lightnin' Slim; 6) Dirty Britches - Leap Frogs; 7) She's Mine, All Mine - Arthur Neal Gunter; 8) Little Lean Woman - Little Al; 9) Congo Mombo - Guitar Gable; 10) It's Your Voodoo Working - Charles Sheffield; 11) Now Listen Baby - Good Rockin' Sam Beasley / Kid King's Combo12) Live Jive - Whispering Smith; 13) Goin' Crazy over TV - Jimmy Anderson; 14) I'm a Mojo Man - Lonesome Sundown; 15) Lester's Stomp - Lazy Lester; 16) Blues Hangover - Slim Harpo.